THE most expensive and cheapest places in Essex to buy a property have been revealed as part of a new study.

Cardinal Steels and Online Marketing Surgery have published the House Price Report, which was produced using data from the Office for National Statistics.

It found the average UK house price is £280,649. But what about specifically in Essex? 

Harwich, and the CO12 postcode, has been revealed as the cheapest area in the county to buy a property with an average house price of £249,374.

In Clacton a home is likely to set you back £272,682, while in Colchester the average property costs £359,429.

Living in mid Essex is said to be a little bit pricier, with the average home on the market in Braintree selling for £371,244 and in Halstead for £361,815.

To live in Epping, you will have to fork out as much as £639,203.

Blackmore and the CM4 postcode is the most expensive area in Essex, with an average house price of £834,530.

Burnley in Lancashire has the cheapest average house price at £100,820 while the Kensington and Chelsea borough in London has the highest average house price of £1,197,249.

Here is the full list of Essex’s average house prices by postcode ranked from least to most expensive:

Harwich (CO12)


Purfleet (RM19)


Clacton-on-Sea (CO15 + CO16)


Walton On The Naze (CO14)


West Thurrock (RM20)


Tilbury (RM18)


Grays (RM17)


Basildon (SS13 + SS14)


Prittlewell (SS2)


Canvey Island (SS8)


Laindon (SS15)


Witham (CM8)


Harlow (CM17 + CM18 + CM19 + CM20)


Rochford (SS4)


Colchester (CO1 + CO2 + CO3 + CO4 + CO5 + CO6)


South Ockendon (RM15)


Halstead (CO9)


Braintree (CM7 + CM77)


Southminster (CM0)


Langdon Hills (SS16)


Corringham (SS17)


Southend-on-Sea (SS0 + SS1)


Wivenhoe (CO7)


Frinton-on-Sea (CO13)


Shoeburyness (SS3)


Manningtree (CO11)


Wickford (SS11 + SS12)


Maldon (CM9)


Chelmsford (CM1 + CM2)


Chafford Hundred (RM16)


Hadleigh (SS7)


Hockley (SS5)


Rayleigh (SS6)


Eastwood (SS9)


Hatfield Peverel (CM3)


Stansted Mountfitchet (CM24)


Great Dunmow (CM6)


Arkesden (CB11)


Billericay (CM11 + CM12)


Chipping Ongar (CM5)


Ashdon (CB10)


Loughton (IG10)


Brentwood (CM13 + CM14 + CM15)


Waltham Abbey (EN9)


Buckhurst Hill (IG9)


Epping (CM16)


Chigwell (IG7)


Blackmore (CM4)